#6 — Like Cereal & Milk

I drove to work yesterday with a Paul Simon song in my head. “I’d do it for your love.” We were married on a rainy day….

Poetry is like drawing for me sometimes. I want the music in my head to play on paper, but it doesn’t usually come out that way. The water music of words is tricky. I’m not Paul Simon. I’ll keep playing, though. Never stop splashing in mud puddles, never stop doodling, never give up trying, thanks to the inspiration all around, including sketches like this “strange little drawing” from Jeremy.

Getting Along

Never settle for soggy grains
is how he liked to put it, how he
captured my wheezing heart. Until
a dripping spoonful of grape nuts
broke his incisor right in two.
I’ll say potaytoh, you say….
The magnets on the fridge tell
as much about us as the interior
of our medicine cabinet.
I’ll hold the bowl, you pour.
My teeth aren’t broken yet.
This is how we compromise.
You say tohmahtoh, I’ll say….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jeremy Edwards
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 14:17:03

    Your artistry will *never* go soggy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

